Many businesses think that the new employees who have just graduated from schools lack interpersonal skills, such as working with colleagues as a team. What has caused this and what are the solutions to this problem?

Young graduates from around the world face closed doors from enterprises who think they probably lack soft skills such as teamwork. One of the main reasons is the primary individualistic focus of most taught subjects in universities as they seldom include group projects, and one of the solutions is to include mandatory activities pivoted in solving problems alongside their classmates in rorder to develop these skills. Higher education institutions often overlook paramount factors such as working in teams, provided that they offer a curriculum mostly graded by individual exams or essays; based by the criteria of personal work only. However, this could prevent students from the exchange of ideas or working in teams, which is a common environment faced in the workforce. For example, in careers such as law or engineering most subjects do not have a space for work in groups, enhancing individualistic behaviours. A recent study conducted by VOX, underscored that the majority of the curriculums in higher education institutions were based on a merit-system graded by personal work only. Also, most of the surveyed students, pointed out the fact that most of them did not even interact with their classmates beyond their traditional inputs. To solve this problem, higher education institutions such as universities and colleges, must include subjects that steer students into interaction with each other. This could potentially develop interpersonal skills, as well as to create a sense of community among the students. To illustrate, curriculums should include at least one group project or evaluation where students can discuss and share ideas, in a effort to convey their knowledge in order to reach success and excel in academic and labour ambiances. This effort has been implemented in various institutions such as the University of Irvine, in California, where the totality of the curriculums include a subject called 'Team effort'. The students are faced with simulations of problems that they would encounter in a typical work environment such as creating a presentation or proposal for their bosses, and prompt students to find the solutions by working together in pre-selected teams. This has been proven to help the graduates a much easier transition to the workforce. In conclusion, while many of the industries deemed young graduates as unsuitable due to the lack of interpersonal skills, the majority of the students were not put in this situations before, thus their situation must be improved by higher instituions, with the addition of subjects that allowed them to study and solve problems alongside their future colleagues, creating a prepared and real-life experience for the future workforce.