Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

In many countries around the world, narcotic drugs are prohibited while alcohol and cigarettes sales are legal. There are many individuals who consider tobacco and alcoholic beverages to be drugs, arguing that laws should also ban these items. Although alcohol and tobacco cause harm to their consumers, I believe they should not be banned since they are still part of societies' cultures. A person's life can be irreversibly damaged by hard drug consumption. Heroin and cocaine, for example, not only affect the body's health but also lead to high addiction, making users dependents. Furthermore, being addicted to drugs can affect people's function, impeding them from working, socialising and looking after themselves. In addition, family and partners suffer from psychological and material consequences due to the cost of treatment and the difficulty of seeing their loved ones suffering from drug addiction. Indeed, the damage created by hard drug usage is vast, thus, governments have established laws to ban those chemicals from society. Meanwhile, tobacco and alcohol consumption can also negatively affect one's health. Smoking causes different types of cancer and heart disease, whereas alcohol abuse leads to domestic violence, health problems, and mental illness. However, although smoking and drinking alcohol have negative impacts on humans, they are habits that have been inserted into human culture since the old eras, being associated with socialization and relaxation. Usually, people can drink and smoke at a considerable healthy level. In this context, the government can create laws to restrict cigarettes and alcoholic drinks while promoting healthier habits, but banning those items may result in negative reactions from the community. In conclusion, I believe that governments prohibiting alcoholic drinks and tobacco at the same level as hard narcotics is not an effective solution, even tough it can have negative effects in humans. This is because it's still part of people's culture to consume these items so the population can reprove this measure.