In many countries, people are consuming more sugar-based drinks that ever before. Why is this happening? What chould be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

The trend to drink sugar-based products has rose in the past few years. One of salient reason behind this trend is the rising proportion of stressful events across the worlds. However, it can be tackled with the firm actions from governments, which will be discussed in this essay. The primary reason for this phenomena is the high prevalence of stressful events. It can be seen that several phenomena in this world lately has caused remarkable and detrimental impacts in society, such as the climate change and world war, which later intrigue them to experience psychological difficulties, mainly stress. Retrieved from Statista this month, the data reveals that there are 89% people globally who currently suffer from trauma and stress, prompting action to seek for coping strategies, such as travelling or consuming things that can help people to ease their feelings, and one of those is the consumption of sugar-based drink products. The extended study show, that since the beginning of climate change and Ukraine war in 2021, the proportion of people who consumed sugar-based drink has soared to 54% globally that has been indicated from the surging purchasement of several renowned products such as Coca Cola or Starbucks. Those people believe that the regular consumption of those products can significantly make them happier and less worried about future, as nowadays people likely to feel uncertain about it due to the world’s unstable conditions. As a result, the prevalence from this condition can heighten the likelihood to suffer from some diseases such as diabetes or stroke; therefore the authorities are deemed to take actions. In order to reduce the intake of sugar-based drinks, governments can start conduct some actions. First, increasing the price of sugar-based beverages. By rising the price, people will less likely to buy the product, since they it prompts a particular thought that people will waste their money. This radical solution has seen effective among Japanese citizens since their municipalities decide to culminate the price of sugar beverages in every restaurants and retailers by $2 until $5, eventually driving people to drink water instead. Second, subsidise a healthier drink option to substitute sugar-based drinks. For example, it can be seen in some Singapore streets where locals or tourists can easily find the fresh juice maker machine as part of the local government endeavours to reduce the percentage of people who suffer from diabetes due to their regular consumption of sugar-based drinks. From those solutions, it can be said that some firm actions by governments can effectively lower the proportion of people who consume sugar-based products. In conclusion, the high number of sugar-based drink consumers is notably intrigued by the peak number of stressful events that currently happen across the world, as they begin to see that habit as one of effective coping strategies. To reduce that number; therefore, local municipalities can start to take actions such as increasing the price of sugary products and allocate more funds to a healthier beverage option in order to substitute the sugary products.