In schools and universities, girl tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

It is generally accepted in education or career fields that subject preferences are divided by gender, with arts being dominant for female students and science for male students. This essay will try to identify the factors contributing to this and argue that this trend should be changed. There are many reasons why genders influence the coice of courses. One important factor is the gender stereotypes in social environment, which led individuals to decide their futures based on these norms. For instance, men are considered suitable for fields requiring logic and technical skills, such as engineering and mathematics, while women are seen more suited for fields involving creativity and art, such as artist or education. Furthermore, families play a significant role in shaping their children's interest and subjects preferences. For example, from an early age, boys are given toys related to construction or science, while girls are given dolls or fashion-related toys. Consequently, the ability of young people become confined to particular skill, reinforcing common perception in society. However, there are some strong arguments to alter this trend to achieve gender equality and maximize individuals' potential. Firstly, many science and technology fields are experiencing a lack of experts. By encouraging more women to get involved, we can help to fulfil workforce requirements and prompts economic growth. Secondly, this tendency should be changed to expand the equality of opportunity. All individuals, regardless of gender, should have the same opportunity to pursue their talents and interests. Eliminating gender stereotypes allows ladies and gentlemen to choose educational and career paths that truly interest without social pressure. In conlusion, the reasons behind the pattern of choosing subject fields based on sexual category include the influence of traditional generalisations and families. I believe it should be removed to address limited human resources and promote gender equality.