Some people get into debt by buying things they do not need and are unable to afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Purchasing unnecessary and unaffordable items makes some people get into debt. This essay will suggest that the reasons why people behave like this is because of their lavish lifestyle and exposure to luxurious life’s content. The most viable solution for this behaviour is to have one’s financial awareness by recording an incomes-expenses. People getting into debt are possibly due to having an expensive way of living. Regular spending on a costly services and products can outnumber their income which leads to borrowing others money in order to support these purchase. Additionally, they might want to buy it on the grounds of continuous expose to the rich content on social media. It is normal that people like to showing off their wealthy lifestyle as a remark of their success and presenting this online may influence others to have it as well. For instance, many people on instagram like to post pictures of themselves with luxury brand and expensive dishes for their content rather than actually want it. One way to prevent this group of people from buying things irrationally is to have an awareness of their own financial balance by tracking income and outcome. This record is a solid proof of how much we have by presenting two sides of the figure; one is the money we receive and the other is what we pay. Seeing this aforementioned numbers can help us realise our purchase ability and create self-control to buy things sensibly. For example, several college students in big cities often record their balance in order to survive in a luxurious setting. In conclusion, the reasons why people are overly purchase thing beyond of their pocket is because of living lavishly and exposure to wealthy media content that unconsciously drive them to own it. Tracking expenses can solved this impulsive act by promoting self-awareness of their financial status and self-control.