Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, due to the technological advancements such as Smart televisions and virtual games children are prone to spend a lot of time on entertainment rather than studies. Some people believe that these activities can pose great threat to child's mental health. Moreover, playing video games and watching television for prolonged period of time can cause detoriation in the cognitive function and predispose to mental illness. I completely agree with the statement and will discuss some of the drawbacks. Pre-frontal cortex of brain is responsible for the decision making, language skills and critical thinking. However, these functions rapidly develops in young age when given proper stimulation such as problem solving, challenges and exploration. Unfortunately, most children are spending these crucial times in watching TV series and movies. Moreover, some young adolescents play video games in the mobiles and PlayStations. In addition to that, spending long period in these activities hinder the cognitive functions and cause mental problems such as lack of concentration, delay in milestones and problem solving capacity. Recent study in the California university shows that children who spend more than 6 hrs in playing video games are lacking language developing skills and decision making. In particular, mental illnesses such as depression, restlessness, hyperactivity and anxiety are more common due to lack of social interactions. Inspite of the parents effort in interaction with child, they are more dependent on leisure activities. Because of the technological advancements in gadgets most schooling children owns smartphones and uses it to play online games. For example, during COVID period many young people attempted suicide just because, their parents not allowed them to play PUBG game. So, playing time should be monitored and parents should spend time with their children to prevent mental conditions. In conclusion, I totally agree that playing video games and watching television can cause numerous mental conditions to young children. To avoid these, parents should educate children and allow them to play outdoor games and involve them in extra curricular activities that not only prevent mental diseases but also improves cognitive function.