Many women are in the workforce today, but only a few are in senior positions. What causes? Suggest possible solutions.

It is true that women have started to join to the workplace after the modernization and industrialization. However, it is common that men dominate higher level positions in a variety industry fields. There are a few reasons, and the first one is because women in the workforce directly affected from their biological cycles. For women, the problem is giving a birth, which also accompanied with raising a child. In addition, from the point of company’s view, it is a long vacancy and other employees should share the burden during the vacant period. The second reason is narrow sighted approach to the leadership, which implies that men are more charismatic and more suitable for the higher position. The conventional awareness leads to discourage to achieve lower level of women leadership. It reflects the fact that there is no women CEO in top 5 biggest companies in Korea. Nevertheless, I think it can be resolved by implementing two things. To begin with, the government should provide subsidies to the companies that allow women ’s maternity leave. With this, people could get the perception that it is all our responsibilities to deal with not only by companies but also by the government. Moreover, offering subsidies can be a practical help to fill in the vacancy. On top of that, the government continually have to publicize the good examples of women leadership to the citizens. By sharing the other cases, women care be able to get encouraged to achieve their social goal. Thus, companies also can alleviate the burden of allowing women ’s long repetitive leaves. To sum up it is undeniable fact that it is still a low level of women leadership. However, it can be resolved by implementing a lot of subsidy programs and constant sharing of best examples of women leadership by the government.