Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In today’s world, mandatory enlistment in a national service has been commonly implemented in most countries. Some people suggested that this adoption of the system in all nation is a brilliant idea, regardless genders. In my opinion, I agree with this view due to its significant advantages, especially for promoting the national loyalty, as well enhancing personal growth and development. Firstly, taking part in military service can foster individuals’ patriotism and devotion to their country. Usually, theory classes such as history, national security and geopolitics are available during services, where they will learn about past wars and significant events that occurred before the independence of the country. Furthermore, they will gain a deeper understanding regarding national heroes and warriors who had sacrificed to protect the nation from the invaders. By attaining thorough knowledge about national history, it will open their eyes and be more aware of the importance of preserving peace and security from future threats. Secondly, participating in conscription can promote numerous benefits for individual’s growth and development. During their services, they are required to oblige military’s rules and lifestyles, which known to be absolutely strict and rigid, compared to a normal citizen’s life. Furthermore, they will be asked to perform vigorous military’s routines and trainings, which are physically and mentally demanding. While these obligations could be very challenging and tough at the beginning, not only they promote various benefits to individuals’ physical fitness but also foster one’s discipline and mental strengths, which are valuable skills in the future. In conclusion, I believe that the enforcement of conscription law promotes plenty of advantages, especially to the young men and women after they graduated their schools. Serving in military surely will enhance their sense of patriotism towards their country, as well as positively cultivate one’s growth and development.