Interview form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are better methods. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Interviews are mostly used by big organization to select their employee, but some people argue that it is not the most compitent way of selecting their workers. I agree with the opinion that interview is not the best way to choose a candidate for your company. Face to face questioning usually just scraps the surface when it comes to knowing about a candidate. Firstly most interview questions are closed ended and limits the answers of the person who is interviewed. Secondly the questions are usually repeated in all job interviews, not only does this makes them predictable but also easly crammed. Thirdly they are time consuming and expensive for both the employer and the employee. For example the company hiring should create time, place and personel personnel for the interviews, which are is very expensive. There are others ways to identify the most suitable person for your company, this includes giving them tasks which suites their profession and see if they can do it flawlessly. The individual who will finish the task well will be the best candidate. This is usually less time consuming and requires minimal supervision. Another method which you can use is through recommendation by people you trust. Such scenarios happen when other people have seen the level of professionalism and work ethics of a person and they recommend them to you. To conclude interview being basic selection criteria for jobs is expensive and time consuming and there are other methods such as recommendation which is less costly and time saving.