Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels (oil, coil and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Other people disagree with this approach. Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion.

In recent years, the use of vehicles have increased considerably leading to environmental pollution. People are divided in their opinion regarding levying heavy taxes on fossil fuels can reduce the consumption of energy or not. I strongly agree with the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels can reduce energy consumption. This essay highlights the reasons with valid explanation and examples for the same. To begin with, increasing taxes on energy fuels can discourage people to use there vehicles, resulting in less pollution. More and more people will use public transport for commuting from work to home. Due to less number of vehicles on the roads, the problem of traffic congestion can be solved to a greater extent saving precious time of the people, which can be utilised by them in leisure activites. People will be able to spend more quality time with their near and dear ones. Secondly, there would be reduction in government expenses on maintainence of roads, as the condition of roads will not deteriorate in short span of time as less number of vehicles are running on the roads. On the other hand, the common man will be more affected due to increase in taxes and not the affluent ones. For example, A person living in remote area where the frequency of public transport is less, will suffer as he will be forced to use his personal car for commuting and the increase in taxes affect his income. Secondly, it will have an adverse effect on the economy of nation, due to decrease in consumers. Many petrol pumps will shut down due to lack of customers, the employees of this power station will turn jobless. In conclusion, increase in taxes will surely help in reduction of energy consumption, resulting in lesser pollution and better condition of roads.