Since the 18th century, technological advancements have replaced people in the workplace. With today's technology, this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?"

In the past few decades, employees has been replaced in their workplace from robot and machines, thus contributing to an increase of the unemployment rate. While it is true that technological devices have led less need of certain competence, I believe that technology have created a plethora of new job opportunity. On the one hand, many countries are allocating a huge amount of money on digital transition to abilitate the so called Industry 4.0. In that industry, mechanical tasks are planned to be finalised by robots and machines, which are considered more precise and quick than physical workers. As a consequence, some competences are becoming not useful in certain industries. Take the texile industry, in the past at least 5 person were needed to design, create and pack clothes. Now, with online rendering and automated machines only a supervisor is essential. On the other hand, there are new job opportunities created by technology, such as ditigal marketing, programming, and social media manager. Even if these require different skills, universities and schools are redeveloping their courses aiming to create workforce aligned with the renovated job market. For instance, the Catholic University of Sacred Heart in Milan has launched the first course entirely focused on digital skills and how to manage technologies. Moreover, lot of companies retain their workforce offering upskills programs which are useful to relocate workers inside the company without firing them. In conclusion, fast-paced changes in the industry pose a threat to employees in sectors undergoing a change in skills. However, many other jobs are emerging, and in addition to unemployment, there has been a relocation of workers.