Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a debate about the suitable method for selecting an employee for big industries. Some people are in favour of interviews, others believe that it is not the best way to choose a worker. I also agree with the latter viewpoint, one method is not always reliable they should consider other approaches too. The first reason behind this phenomenon is some people do not perform well during the interviews. They might feel pressure to answer the questions. There are few people who lack communication skills but they might be best when they perform their tasks. However, during face-to-face conversation, this lack of skill could result in not selection of a person who could be the best in the task performance. Secondly, the criteria for every vacancy are different. There are a few roles such as doctors and nurses. These jobs require practical ways to judge a person's ability to perform actual tasks. If these professionals receive jobs only on the basis of one method and after that, they fail to perform actual job duties. It could be harmful to people. Therefore, organisations should rely on other ways too. In my view, companies should select a blended approach such as checking the social media platform of a citizen to know the background details. Also, they should use assessment centres where critical thinking and problem-solving skills can be checked by giving them real work duties on the spot. This mixed approach could help employers to find suitable employees. To conclude, some notions believe that interviews are not a reliable way to hire an employee, while others are in favour of this. However, I believe that management should conduct a hiring with a mix of techniques to build a better team.