Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the last decade, many people have debated what to ask when recruiting staff worldwide. Many believe that employers should collect their personal information, such as their leisure activities and marital status as they are important, however, others feel that this information can not be useful. Personally, I believe that personal information plays a crucial role in understanding person and it should be applicable for the recruitment process, and this essay will explore both the perspectives. There are several key benefits of knowing other's personal background when recruiting. One major fact is that it plays a critical role in when understanding a person. If employers know about their employee's hobbies, interests, and family, they may be able to implement a company process and procedures which support them. Many organisations, for instance, tend to have team-building activities so if they can understand workers' preference, they can organise events which satisfy their staff. Another key aspect is to create a safe and enjoyable place to work employers should know about their like and dislike. An individual who enjoys travelling, for an example, wants to work remotely so that employers could implement this before, if they know it. In contrast, some people argue this information should not collect as it may cause security issue. Because of rising cyber crimes these days, many people might be reluctant to share their personal information. Many employees, for example, seem to apply jobs, which are not demanding this data. As a result of this many companies have removed this section in their selection process. In conclusion, this essay discussed the both viewpoints about collecting personal information in interviewing process. In my opinion, it can be invaluable for not only for firms but also people who work there.