Rising university fees and scares employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that higher educational institutions ought not educate humanities subjects for example Philosophy and History as graduates are facing less employment opportunites along with increasing fees in university. They consider the authority should allow nothing but practical courses in order to get the maximum opportunity for jobs. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this view since Arts is such a versatile academic arena which is anything but impractical. Most individuals have a misconception that Arts courses are invaluable in real life as if the scopes were only limited within the Aesthetics- the study of beauty and truth. But there are more aspects than ever which meet the eyes. For example, Aristotle is considered the father of Political Science who is also a great philosopher. Infact, Philosophy is the origin of Logic Studies which has led to the birth of Mathematics as a real, scientific field. Thus, Philosophy exhibits a a supreme practical prospect in employment sectors. In case of History, it reminds us the past events which determines the future trajectories of human civilization. In order to secure a seat in international diplomatic world, one must know about the world history to understand the complex geo-political relationship. Nonetheless, people who think studying History is unnecessary, they should observe more on how diplomacy works worldwide. To conclude, Arts subjects are often regarded as Humanities due to their intricate connection with human lives. Therefore, universities should change their policy to make tution fees affordable so that they can offer more such courses to gain the most practical benefits instead of shutting them down.