In modern times, children are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Nowadays, young people spend more time with their friends rather than with their families. This habit has become more common due to the nature of parents ' work, which prevents modern families from spending enough time with their children. However, I think that families should encourage their children to socialize with their friends, and they should not force them to stay at home because this will help them build strong communication skills, which are essential for modern life. In the modern world, both parents have to work to make a living. As a result, parents come back home exhausted, and they cannot be emotionally or physically available to their children. That’s why children prefer to enjoy their time with friends, so they can play and have fun because at home such things are either unavailable or rarely happen. For instance, in Kuwait, families tend to register their children in not one but two clubs so they can socialize and have fun after school. Even though this problem indeed exists, families should not force their children to spend extra time with them at home because kids will feel trapped and start to develop negative emotions towards their parents, since they would prefer to spend time with their friends who can understand and play with them. In contrast, parents should encourage their children to socialize with their friends. Although this seems to have a bad impact on the parental relationship, it has plenty of positive impacts on their personal growth and social skills. That’s why such a practice should be encouraged. For example, in Saudi Arabia, many businessmen shared that in their childhood, they had spent more time socializing with their peers rather than staying at home with their parents, and they encourage more families to do so with their own children. To conclude, the nature of parents ' work is one of the main causes why children prefer to spend more time with their friends. Such an idea should be encouraged due to its positive impact on the child’s personality and skills.