In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

In various regions, primary and secondary schools allow students to take a break of about 2 to 3 months in the summer holidays. This break offers many benefits to students, but there are also valid reasons to shorten it. On the one hand, a long summer break can bring many values for students which can recharge their battery, enrich their experiences and so on. After numerous exams and pressure in the semesters, they finally can relax for a long period of time, which can relax their mental health. Furthermore, learners can have more time to travel, explore, participate in summer camps, or simply spend time with family and themselves. For example, in the summer, my friends are always travelling or joining volunteer work. If holidays were shortened, they could only have minor activities. On the other hand, shortening the amount of time will ensure continuity in learning and stronger education. Firstly, if students rest for too long, they can’t catch up with the rhythm of new semesters and this can easily lead to excessive laziness and relaxation. Secondly, pupils in their final year of high school need to start the school year earlier to have more time to review, supplement, and expand their knowledge in preparation for entrance exams to higher grades. For instance, collegians in Vietnam face the university entrance exam, which requires high scores and certificates to get into top universities. If holidays were shortened, they could have more time to prepare and get ready for the new school year. In conclusion, depending on grade, the government could divide the holiday period in the most reasonable way. This could help students who need rest to have enough time to recover, and give those who need to get back into shape and prepare early more time to achieve the best results.