In many countries it is very easy to apply for and be given credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debt they cannot pay back. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, credit cards are given to residents conveniently in some parts of the world, which can create some problems for them. I believe that this scenario has more pros than cons. To begin with, one of main drawbacks is that some people overspend their money while shopping. They usually realise later when they get their bank statements. Some of them may not have enough money to pay debt before the due date; consequently, a large amount of interest is added to their bill monthly, which is probably hard to pay off. For example, in recent years, some Canadians are struggling to pay their credit card bills, leading them to file for bankruptcy. On the hand, I contend that having a number of credit cards are beneficial. Firstly, some people have limited resources income, which is quite difficult for them to save a small amount of money for emergency situations. For instance, tuition fees for international students are quite high, and they can pay off all the amount at the same time. At that time, they can use their cards. Secondly, using the cards are quite safer compared to carrying cash, which people can lose them while taking out of their pockets. If they forget their cards at any place, there is an option where individuals can block them. Thus, an unauthorised person cannot use them, they get a new one after visiting the bank in person. To conclude, although overspending without realisation is the main drawback of having an abundance of cards, I think that people can use them in any emergency situations coupled with being more secure that cash, which are the main advantages of this trend.