Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Several renowned organisations are headed mostly by males, despite the statistical fact from regions of the world, where females make a large fraction of their overall plethora of employees. It is suggested that necessary reforms should be done so that this picture can be altered for good. In this essay, I would be discussing about such amendments which can be useful. According to a research of Harvard School of Business, women make only 10% of the total high-level position holders. Whereas, considering wide range, the aggregate of females throughout the corporate world is more than 50% of the whole lot. Many of these ladies are employed in developing nations. This clearly points towards the repercussions of racism, somewhere not considering women capable enough to be in powerful roles. It is not only sad to see such discrimination, in addition it adds to lack of confidence in all such professionals who are going through it. To alleviate the situation, it is recommended that some of the decision-making positions to be reserved for females. As the thought process of man and woman are different, it can help in covering the points during imperative discussions which could have been missed otherwise. Such a set-up can help in creating a balance in work culture. It is also evident from a research by Yale psychologists that in scenarios where companies were having a comparable number of senior professionals from both genders, the office environment was more positive. To conclude, comparing the figures of women working and the women in senior positions poses huge difference. This gap should be filled by taking measures like giving a fraction of such seats only to ladies. Balance should be maintained, be it work-life balance or gender balance.