Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it, or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

Employees are obliged to go through various stages of selection process nowadays. Of which, face - to - face or online interaction with the employer is very common. In my opinion, interviews are not completely reliable to measure the ability of a prospective worker. The selection process should involve certain other stages like practical skill test, group discussion and written tests. While considering the benefits of interviews, it is an effective method. It does not require much time to analyse personal traits. Additionally, it will avoid prompts as the candidate has to answer the question on the spot. It can also analyse how a person can handle stress, anxiety and pressure. However, the qualities like social interaction, leadership, problem solving skills and above all, the practical knowledge in the trait should be analysed before appointing an employee. In such a scenario, interviews are futile. There are better alternatives such as group discussions, written test and practical skills that can analyse the above mentioned qualities. The best method to choose an employee is through designing a selection procedure. To be more clear, a system based on the necessities of a firm coupled with the skills that are expected from a future employee. For instance, the selection process of multinational companies involves various stages like written test, group discussion, skill set test and finally, interviews. Such a process brings out the best employees for a company, even though the process is time consuming. In conclusion, although interviews are considered as the optimum method of selection for a job, there are several measures that can be adopted to choose good employees.