Paying all workers the same salary in a company promotes harmony and respect amongst colleagues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that salary is one of the most important motivations to perform well in the workplace. However, a segment of society believes that all employees in the company should get the same wage. I personally do not agree with this notion, because I believe that earnings should be based on performance. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. First and foremost, employees should get salaries commensurate to their qualifications and experience. It would be wrong to expect seniors to accept the same wage as juniors as with years of experience employees develop as professionals, become more productive and subsequently, generate more value. Take, for example, software engineers. Junior developers do not have real-life experience; therefore, need much more time to successfully complete tasks compared to senior developers. Another reason is motivation. A higher wage is the most powerful motivation for everyone to perform better and work harder. Some people spend more years, and funds in order to get their qualifications driven by the goal of earning more money. If companies start paying the same paycheque, in the long run, individuals will lose their motivation to be better qualified and to work harder. Moreover, workers will not want to take positions that require more effort and responsibility. For example, nearly nobody wants to risk their lives saving others while being paid the same as someone who does an office job. To conclude, salary can incite individuals to rise through the ranks and work hard ensuring a better life. Thus, am convinced that employees should be paid based on the value they generate.