Some employers of their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more active at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, give your opinion.

While some employers believe that subsidized benefits make staff healthier and more productive at work, others assume that it has no benefit. This essay will discuss both arguments in-depth with relevant examples but I personally believe that various other motivations and rewards, in combination with this healthy pursuits, will bring effective results. On the one hand, several organisations seeking way to enhance the productivity of their employees by subsidising healthy pursuits because if workers are more fitter and less stressed, it will increase the volume of output and services. Therefore, significant numbers of employers provide extra benefits to their employees such as gym membership fee, sports club facilities because it will improve their work -life balance and by full-filling their leisure time, it will help to keep them motivated. For instance, discounts on corporate cards are of its examples. Thus, organisations consider it a more fulfilling reward than providing perks, and extra financial rewards. On the other side, many firms believe that these benefits will have no impact on the enhancement of the productivity of the output as their efficacy is virtually impossible to quantify. To exemplify, in target based job, individuals performance are measured by the targets they had achieved against the desired number. Furthermore, on-job training, day release programmes are some ways to improve the performance of employees, which will enhance the output. To conclude,. While I believe that gyms or sports clubs membership offered by the office is one of many effective motivations for some employees to work efficiently at work. But for many others, monetary rewards are more useful. Therefore, employers should provide a range of motivators that will promote productivity at work.