Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do. How far do you agree? What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid

Certain professions such as film actors or company bosses attract greater salaries than other workers like nurses, doctors and teachers, who do not seem to be prized as much. The income of the latter, however, should I feel be much higher to reflect their value to society. Teachers, have a much greater impact on the development of society than film actors and company bosses, as teachers from primary to tertiary level are responsible for laying the foundations of all people’s careers. Without them, businesses such as banking would not have skilled IT professionals and accountants, nor would the acting world have trained actors. The same applies to nurses and doctors, who provide an invaluable service keeping the workforce healthy and productive. Determining workers’ pay obviously depends on the budgets of the organisations that pay them, which affects other criteria, for example, their contribution to society. It is not impossible, however, to measure the impact of any worker on national development, especially as the work of professionals such as teachers and health workers are so well documented. Moreover, if it is clear that the government holds such professionals in high regard, then society will be prepared to pay them more. Another important factor in determining the pay of teachers and certain health professionals is that of fairness. It does not seem right if film actors and company bosses are paid many times more than others. Perhaps the answer is to legislate for fairness of remuneration to ensure that certain incomes do not become uncontrollable. In conclusion, teachers, nurses and doctors are definitely more important than film actors and company bosses, and certain remuneration criteria are needed to ensure the former are paid appropriately.