Many high level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

There are still more men filling high-level positions even though the workforce in many first world countries has more than 50% women. With the world now expecting more opportunities for women companies are being forced to give a certain amount of these positions to women, however is that considered favouritism? This essay will further discuss this. From a statistical point of,view it sure is considered unfair for women, with more than 50% of the workload being done by women but many high-level positions are given to men instead. Equality is something important in this new age, with a lot of people,particularly women requesting to be treated fairly in the working industry. By allocating a certain amount of these positions to be filled by women it could only be fair as they are the ones taking up more of the workforce. However, that is the information that can only be seen statistically and not what is happening in the real world. It is harder for women to be in a higher position regarding work because most of them are also building a family, women tend to focus more on their personal life by spending time with their kids or even in the middle of pregnancy can heavily affect their jobs. On the other,hand men are more likely to spend more time focusing on work rather than on their families so that they can have a high income for their family. So rather than giving the high position jobs to some women that cannot or will not give their 100% companies rather trust someone who can. In conclusion, it can look unfair statistically that women are not being given higher positions jobs. However, it cannot be assumed just by graphs but also by the working effort being given. Sure there are some women that focus more on their careers but that is a rarity, so I do not agree that a percentage should be allocated to women but rather given to those who are hard-working.