A job for life is no longer a reality. Many people are now employed on short-term contracts. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this kind of employment for employees?

Majority of the people nowadays are hired on short-term contracts and long lasting jobs do not exist any more. Project-based hiring has its own merits and demerits. The advantages of short-term contracts is that the employee gets to work with several clients over various kinds of projects in a short period of time increasing his/her exposure and skill-set, however the down side to this trend is that they need to be continuousely in search of new jobs. A increasing trend has been noticed where employers hire only based on projects these days, because of which the employees get to change multiple roles and expose themselves to a spectrum of projects in a short duration. With such challenging atmosphere, it makes an individual more competitive and continuousely up-skill to be able to keep up to the employers and project demands. Therefore, from a self-development perspective such contracts can seem to be highly advantageous. However, one of the major downsides of such small-term commitments is that the employees need to be constantly in search of a new job upon their completion of the current project, which inturn leads to development of mental stress in many. In addition, if the professionals are the only source of income for their family then such contracts might be a huge risk if they go unemployed for long periods. In conclusion, such contracts have their own pros and cons, but the risk they impose on individuals personal life, cause the disadvantages to outweigh the advantages of short-term contracts.