Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

It is being argued that, although there are more than 50 per cent female workers in many developed nations, most of the workers in senior management are male. Companies should be required to fix a percentage of these jobs for women. I strongly agree with this statement because women consumers would be able to relate with them, and junior-level female employees might feel safer. Women might attract more female consumers. In other words, many companies have target customers who are female, and thus female management would be able to provide better solutions to increase the company’s sales and profits. For example,in an interview, Raj Shamani director of Pee Safe, a women's hygiene brand, said that the company’s sales had increased after his wife joined the directorship. Hence, I strongly think that women employees should become a part of high-level management Junior-level female employees would feel more safe. This is because they would be able to complain about sexual and other harassment to senior management confidently since they know that a senior female manager would hear them. For instance, sexual harassment cases in Reliance were reduced drastically after Nita Ambani joined as a Director. Therefore, I strongly believe that companies should make a rule to hire a fixed percentage of females in senior positions. In conclusion, even though more than 50 per cent of workers are female in many developed nations, most top-level managers are male. Companies should make a rule to fix a certain percentage of females in top positions. I strongly agree with this statement because female consumers would be attracted, and junior female staff would feel more secure.