Most high level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be require to allocate a certain percentage of these position to women. Do you agree?

Despite an incremental population of women shown in various industries, in some companies there are even more females than males, and it is rare to find women in senior occupations. Whilst some people suggest that regulations for commercial institutions secure the number of high-level positions for women, I could not agree with such perspectives since gender should not be the priority to define their working performance.  On the one hand, proponents, who are in favour of prompting strict rules to secure these occupations for women, are convinced that gender discrimination is the main cause of only a few females playing the roles of managers. There are many statistics indicating the unfair treatment women face in the workplace, which makes them work twice as hard but still unable to have equal rewards as their male peers. For example, in an experiment asking for performance feedback regarding an identical project under male and female names respectively, the result shows that the one under a female name received more queries compared to the other. Increasing the number of females in senior occupations, it could enhance their influence in male-dominated industries and prompt a gender -equal working environment. On the other hand, I could not agree with such opinions since gender should not be prioritized in selecting candidates for senior occupations, instead, companies should provide equal and transparent censorship to promote suitable employees, which focus more on personal capacity and characteristics. It not only benefits female employees but allows companies to enhance their competitiveness. For instance, one of the most famous shipping commercial institutions FedEx introduced artificial intelligence to score their workers based on their working performance to prevent possible prejudice regarding gender.  To summarise, the truth of gender discrimination toward females is undeniable, however, I could not agree with those who suggest companies should secure a certain amount of high-level positions for females since I believe the best solution to address the current issue is to provide a working environment for competent individuals to have opportunities to better contribute to companies they are working for.