Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

I totally agree with the idea that companies should allocate a certain propotion of the high-level positions to women. Although over 50% of the workforce in companies in many developed countries is female, both non-married and married female workers have little chance to get such high positions because they are usually underestimated and they often have to leave work when they get married to do more household job than men and such situation is solved by just increasing the high positions for females. This essay forcuses on the main two reasons in the following paragrapghs. First, female workers are seldom evaluated fairly compared to the male colleagues if the boss is male. That is, the male boss tends to forcus on only numerical achievements in many situations and they can not realize the female workers ' productive and influential activities in their workplace. For instance, in several studies, it is reported that by adding one female worker in certain workplace, the whole productivity and the motivation within workers became higher than the workplace comprises only male. Next, females have little chance to get promoted compared to men because they tend to save working hours than men do when they are married and when they have the periods, and evaluating one personnel without knowing this, it is unfair. For example, in Japanese hospitals, nurses, most of whose workforce is female, usually continue to work after marriage and even while they are pregnant or in their periods, they are allowed to work within their capacity. On the other hand, female doctors, majority of whose colleagues comprise male, they are not allowed to work within their capacity and quit when they are pregnant. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that companies should increase females in high positions and by doing this, the whole productivity and motivation will be further improved.