Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Men are usually seen holding managerial positions in many enterprises although women make up more than half of the total working population. With this situation, some argue that companies should set a specific quota to recruit females to execute management-related tasks, and I totally agree with this because it could promote diversity in workplaces, and women are as capable as their male counterparts in leading institutions. One of the primary reasons why there should be a specific proportion of females in the leadership roles is that diversity can be achieved. Why is diversity needed in the working environment? It is because it will lead to creativity, in which various approaches are developed to solve problems. Women might have different strategies from men, especially when the tasks require the engagement of female staff or clients. For example, many female-led organisations in developed countries dedicate private spaces for employees to breastfeed or pump milk for their babies to facilitate their reintegration to workplace and support them in nurturing their newborns. Moreover, women can be as effective and practical as men in terms of leading an organisation or even a country. Provided that their family and childcare burden were relieved, they would have sufficient time to focus on their jobs. With a full attention to professional works, ones could possibly achieve anything they set their mind on. Take Jacinda Arden as an example; She managed to prove the world that women can take the prime minister roles while rearing a newborn as long as they can get adequate support. In conclusion, I entirely support that companies, both local and multinational corporations, should reserve a specific number of management roles for females because doing this would create diversity in their organisations, and women could be as capable as men in leading the company if their household responsibilities were minimised.