Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a realiable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether or not using interviews as criteria for choosing employees is a widely debated point. While some people think that interviews are an outdated method, this writer believes interviews are effective by providing time for preparation and fair judgement for every people. It is vital to understand that interviews help interviewees to prepare more carefully. This is because an interview is always prior noticed for about 2 weeks which can make people feel easier and more comfortable to fully – prepare. For instance, American companies select their workers after waiting for a period of time and based on their performances. As a result, their demonstrations at the interviews will be enhanced, leading to not only a higher chance of getting the job, but also making it easier for the interviewers to evaluate them. Another significant factor is interviews provide an equal environment of interviewing for everyone. Due to the fact that if people take an interview, they will be put into the same condition for elimination. Using the interview for that reason can make people feel equal in treatment and being more attracted to resign into the company, besides, helping the company to avoid the mistakes when interviewing them. Thus, interviews strengthen the input of the workforce. However, some people believe that interviews are useless nowadays because of it's outdated methods of choosing workers. This belief is based on the fact that the interview can not treat all aspects of the interviewee because it is quite hard to make the overall competence of an interviewee just only through a question–and–answer format. They can be right to an extent, but by holding an interview and starting a CV screening process simultaneously, this concern will be solved. Therefore, interviews are still useful in choosing employees. In conclusion, although being thought to be useless, interviews are still beneficial by providing time for preparation and judging equally individuals. If continuing using interviews for selecting workers, the company will have a strong workforce which contains several talented people chosen carefully.