Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although multinational companies choose interviews for making selection, some sections of society reckon that it is not a good way to select employees from candidates. I unequivocally agree with the statement to a large extent due to some viable points which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. With a view to discussing, why big companies consider interviews the best way to select prospective employees. The first and foremost is face-to-face conversation. To be more precise this, the source of selection enables the interviewer to clear any doubts regarding any capability of the prospective employee on the spot because the candidate is physically present in the organisation. Consequently, even though, there are numerous methods to find suitable employees, the interview is adopted by large-scale corporations. Despite the aforementioned view, there are several factors which are bending towards the unreliability of interviews and have adopted other measures to select candidates. The prominent one is that modern methods provide an accurate assessment of a professional’s capability not only in simple situations but also in complex situations. To enunciate it, these methods evaluate how professionals behave in complicated situations and provide solutions to numerous problems. For example, in an artificial situation of fire, the professional’s presence of mind, along with bravery, is tested. Another reasonable factor is that quizzes provide a detailed list of strengths and weaknesses of personnel, which is not possible to obtain in the case of interviews promptly. Assigning jobs and positions on the basis of strengths and weaknesses is a good idea because it matches with candidate’s interests. For example, if a candidate is good at maintaining relationships, then it is better to place him or her in a relationship department instead of any other where he or she makes an error. As a result, there is plethora of measures to place professionals in an organisation which holds better results. In conclusion, although big companies consider an interview is a good measure, modern methods, such as various modern methods and quizzes, enable a holistic assessment of an individual for the job as compared to traditional methods