C. Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

In many developed countries, more than 50 percent workforce is based on females; however, most senior positions are hold by males. Therefore, it is argued that a certain number of high- level positions should be filled by women. I partially agree with this statement, job selection should be based on a prewritten merit list. In contrast, I also believe that women in leadership roles will be a role model for other females. On the one hand, according to me instead of gender, a selection criteria should be used to filled the top – level vacancies. This criteria must not only based on the extensive job experiences and advanced education but also consists of strong communication and interpersonal skills. Because these top – level employers work along the whole workforce, so they must be appointed based on their professional and personal skills. Conversely, filling of these positions based on gender, exclusively selecting women, may overlook highly competent male candidates. On the other hand, high number of leadership roles filled by women will inspire other females to develop more self-confidence. In workplaces, when females will be inform that there are certain number of high level job opportunities available for them, this trend will inspire them to work hard, be more innovative and build confidence to fill these positions. For instance, in Pakistan, due to the high volume of female principles in private schools have encouraged numerious teachers and educational support workers to aims for principle roles. In conclusion, I partially agree that females should be appointed at top – level jobs becasue of their gender, because this concern sometimes can leads to the selction of unqualified candidate. Whereas, this also increases female role models in societies.