Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

It is common in developed nations that organizations hire male employees for their managerial positions; however, the percentage of female workers is over half of the total workforce. Many argue that companies should allocate a portion of these jobs for female employees. This essay entirely against the reservation for women in high-end corporate jobs. Firstly, if female workers get an allocation in jobs opportunities, they could get a position without having appropriate skillsets. For example, in India, job seekers of a specific group get a reservation in government jobs, which keeps many deserving candidates out of these positions, and several undeserving candidates get these opportunities. This is why a reservation in corporate positions will give chances to workers who are not efficient in their work. Thus, it is quite evident that allocating certain positions for females is not a viable decision. Secondly, this decision would widen the gap between men and women, and increase gender inequality at the workplace. For instance, when females employees get opportunities on the basis of a reservation, it makes an unease situation for men because if they are getting a job with hard work, this process should be the same for women as well. This policy only harms the mutual respect and understanding between opposite genders. Therefore, reserving a specific portion of high-end jobs for women is not beneficial for a gender-balanced working environment. In conclusion, reserving job opportunities for women workers would promote employees with inadequate knowledge, and it also harms the thinking of gender equality in society. Thus, it is clear why the idea of having reservations in jobs for women cannot be supported.