Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Even though many wealthy nations have more than half of their workforce taken by feminine workers, it is common for organizations to employ men in executive positions. It is argued that corporations should offer part of this opportunities to female employees. This essay totally agrees with that statement because diversity in the work environment could result in more profits for the business and this practice avoids discrimination against women. The main reason why setting several managerial vacancies to female staffers is good for companies is that institutions can increase earnings. Some countries offer lower taxes for companies engaged in equity causes and many consumers prefer to buy products from organizations committed to this type of claim. For example, one of the most successful business in Brazil, the magazine Luiza store, promoted a process to hire feminine professionals in some of the high-level jobs at the company, and this initiative returned more sales and popularity to the organization. Another important reason why defending a percentage of these opportunities to feminine professionals is a valuable action is that it avoids prejudice against women, something common in some organizations. This happens because most high-level professionals are men, and they are more susceptible to pick out male employees for these kinds of role only because they feel more comfortable working with them. For instance, research with directors of a huge oil company in Brazil found out that they prefer to work with men rather than women. To conclude, this essay believes that defining a percentage of managerial jobs to be occupied by female workers is the best thing to do because companies can improve earnings through reducing taxes and increasing market share and also guarantee equity in office places, avoiding discrimination against feminine employees.