Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Women are a very important component of any society, playing multiple roles ranging from homemakers to business executives. They have proved their abilities in all the fields they entered. Organizations that encourage female staff to work equally as males are respected everywhere in the world. Although allocating a quota to the female workforce is still not the best idea as anyone competent applying for a position, senior or junior should be given an equal chance to prove themself. In my opinion fixing a number to the employee ratio is not very suitable as this would restrict the HR staff from hiring the best talent for any firm. Women in any society are usually expected to take care of their families by providing them with the best care and comfort at home. When they opt for any jobs involving leaving the house, it compromises the stability of their family leading them to be mentally divided between the two responsibilities. If any organisation, let suppose aims to hire 25% of their senior team to be women and they do not find the best suitable candidates for those positions, they would compromise on the given hiring standards hence leading to a compromise on the success of the firm. In developed economies, there are opportunities for working mothers to get house help or admit their children to daycares, where much of the responsibility is been taken care of. In those countries, ladies can still contribute to their work in a better way and can provide the management with the best ideas for progress. Or the firms where they provide facilities for working moms to keep their little ones with them, it is much convenient for the ladies to participate in all the tasks assigned. For example, P&G accommodates their female staff with such facilities to grow with the firm. Therefore, I believe that firms that can help their women with such responsibilities can still designate a fixed number to female hirings but where there are no such facilities, equal opportunities should be given to both genders. But where competent females are willingly able to contribute to the top decisions, they must be given all the possible chances.