Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Women rarely occupy managerial posts in most workplaces even though they comprise more than half of the working population in developed nations. Although a rule to reserve some of the positions for females might seem to solve the issue, I believe that men and women should be allowed to compete equally for the posts in order to abolish gender equality. Society has been male-dominated for ages and this continues into the modern world. A law to allocate a few high-level posts for females does seem logical but, it does not solve the bigger issue of gender equality. Women, now, will not have an incentive to work harder as they already have a post ready for them even if other men actually deserve it. So, eventually, people who are worthy of the post are overlooked. Furthermore, a woman who acquires such a position will not be taken seriously because of the rules in the company. For instance, studies say women in managerial posts are less likely to be invited to private dinner parties because the majority dismiss them because of their gender. I think no one should be granted the position right away irrespective of their skills as this will dilute the strength of the company. Women should also be considered by the hiring committee and both genders must be given an equal chance to compete for the post. This will give an incentive for everyone to work harder. The posts will eventually be filled only by people who are worthy of it and not by gender. This will also attempt to solve the issue of gender equality in society and women will not be wrongly objectified. For example, it has been reported that most companies all over the world are now allocating managerial positions to worthy people irrespective of gender. In conclusion, females should not be considered in any way special while hiring for high-level positions and all gender classes must be given an equal opportunity to prove their worthiness of the post. This will lead to a society that is just and fair to all its members.