Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Despite having over 50 percent female workforce, most organizations in many developed countries have the senior positions filled with men. This essay completely disagrees with the arguement that such corporations should introduce a quota for women for these senior roles because hiring should be done on merit and such a decision will only reduce a company's overall competency. Introducting a fixed quota to hire only women in senior positions undermines the true requirement, which is merit, for these positions. If a company decides to fill a certain senior role only by women, then it will be ignoring talents from the other gender, who might have more skills and fit the requirements. Normally, senior roles require experienced and skilled professionals to come in and drive things immediately. Therefore, organizations should ignore gender disparities and look to hire individuals who will do a better job, be it a man or a woman. For example, Microsoft's recent decision to dissolve their diversity wing was based on the evaluation that employees hired through this method were least productive. Moreover, if companies from the first-world countries do decide to introduce such a scheme, it will only lead to certain business units being incompetent. As these senior roles require immediate work, hiring or promoting only women because the quota demands for it, might not be a good idea because the learning curve to adopt to these roles might be steep, which could later turn out to be a complete role-mismatch issue. For instance, X's, formerly called Twitter, open senior-mangement positions have a strict policy of no gender bias to ensure that whoever joins the company can immediately pick from where the project was left previously. In conclusion, I believe open senior roles in companies from the first-world countries should not have a certain percentage allocation for female employees only, because they will be ignoring the merit required to get the job done, thereby leading to a decrease in the company's competency level.