Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Even though many wealthy nations have more than half of their workforce made up of women, it is common for companies to employ men in managerial positions. It is argued that corporations should offer part of this opportunities to women. This essay totally agrees with that statement because diversity in the work environment could result in more profits for the business and this practice avoids discrimination against women. It is known that males and females have differences in interests and behaviours. When the company has a balance between both genders driving decisions, it is more likely that a wide range of demands will be covered. Additionally, women have more abilities in driving business. For example, one of the most successful business in Brazil, the magazine Luiza store, has a woman in front of the decisions. Another important reason to defend a percentage of these opportunities to female professionals is to avoid prejudice, something common in some organizations. This happens because most managers are more susceptible to pick out a man for this kind of position only because they feel more comfortable working with him. For instance, research with directors of a huge oil company in Brazil finds out that they think it is easier to work with men rather than women. To conclude, it is important to define a percentage of high-level jobs to be occupied by women because companies can improve earnings with this practice and also guarantee equity in office places.