Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Better paid jobs are mostly given to men in well-off countries, even when more than half of the workforce is represented by women. Allocating a fair amount of females into these positions should be compulsory. This essay totally agrees wih the statement because with a measure like this, employees will be given the same job opportunities and women will be encouraged to ask for promotions. Allocating a portion of the women ’s workforce to high salary-level positions ensures that employers treat all employees fairly. That is to say that allowing more ladies to be in charge creates equality within the company, thanks to males and females having similar prospects of climbing up the hierarchy career ladder and growing their careers. In Spain, this has been the case, as due to some changes in the law, now companies are forced to give job positions, which had the tendency of being exclusive for men, to women. Women will be more prone to strive for a promotion if companies give them the chance of doing so. Females are hesitant to ask for better jobs and salaries as a result of the business’ board not supporting them on getting this positions; all they see is their men colleagues been promoted even though they are as well prepared as them. If they are now given the opportunity to have their desired job, they will certainly aimed for that. For example, in America, some chief executives in streaming companies like Disney+ or Amazon Prime Video are females. In conclusion, obligating companies to reallocate female worforce to better positions is essential to establish a sense of equality in the office and helps to build women ’s confidence to ask for these kind of jobs.